PDA

View Full Version : Perris lake Catfish?

Vies
07-30-2011, 01:17 PM
ive been tubing Perris for a couple years now and i have never seen anyone or heard of anyone catching cat fish at the lake. Any stories? if so, i gotta gear up for some Catfish on the tube! ;D

thanks guys

v

fishmounter
07-30-2011, 02:15 PM
Yes, we have caught them fishing for Bluegill on jigs tipped with crickets. Not often, but once in a while. I would think that if you fished the submerged boulders on the east side of the island with flylined bonita or mackerel chunks in the early morning and evening hours, you would do pretty good.

TheAsianGuy
07-30-2011, 02:16 PM
Oh..plenty of cats in Perris. If you're looking for the channel cats, they're going deep during the day, and creep out at night. Early early morning, they're lurking around the 5 to 10 feet depth. Best spots to hunt for them, based on my past experiences, are at the dam's outlet (south west corner of the lake), where the concentration of nutrients lay. They lurk at the very depth. Next best spot is near the tire reefs. Bulls tend to search the nests of the gills there I believe. Not sure if they eat the young gills, or there are odd food sources there. Someone got to dive there to confirm. Just from the tire reefs, head straight to the island or directly to the tules (tall grasses). There they lurk the shallows (5 to 10 feet). Early early morning, carps and cats lurk the shallow water along the eastern and southeastern banks of the lake. During summer time, make sure to watch out for snakes when you play along the shores around here. Same goes for tubing. My gripe is I can't seem to catch them carp. However, channel and bull cats, not a problem on carp's bait. Odd creatures.

tacklejunkie
07-31-2011, 06:29 AM
You need flies or shad baits for the carp. Jerkbaits etc.
Carp bait works too, seen it. I see them eating flies too. microscopic white midges.

Bass worms on drop shot with scents also.