PDA

View Full Version : Trout Streams Around Big Bear? Suggestions Appreciated.

ViajeroGrafico
07-13-2011, 11:42 AM
Going to fish in and around Big Bear this weekend for the first time. At the lake, I'll likely fish from the shore (though I do have a kayak, if it's recommended I use it). I'm interested in bass or trout- any suggested spots?

Also, I'd love to fish some streams in the area. Can anyone recommend a good place?

I'm pretty new to fishing, but I'm hooked, so to speak. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much.

RTG
07-14-2011, 11:19 AM
Going to fish in and around Big Bear this weekend for the first time. At the lake, I'll likely fish from the shore (though I do have a kayak, if it's recommended I use it). I'm interested in bass or trout- any suggested spots?

Also, I'd love to fish some streams in the area. Can anyone recommend a good place?

I'm pretty new to fishing, but I'm hooked, so to speak. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much.

Well, if you had a boat I'd suggest trolling Needlefish for the trout. But you can still catch trout with Powerbait-some good spots from shore; Stanfield Cutoff, Windy Point and the dam area. The stream fishing is not happening right now. Bear Creek is good but it is special regs and not accessed via the Big Bear area-you need to get there from 7 Oaks.
Large and smallmouth bassin' should be decent right now, even though it has slowed some. Try weed edges and use "wacky-rigged" Senkos in "Baby Bass" pattern. That should get you started. And you should talk to the guys at Big Bear Sporting goods too. They can get you pointed in the right direction. One more thing-there is a fee for your Kayak if you use it.

ViajeroGrafico
07-14-2011, 11:32 AM
Great information, RTG. Your advice will come in handy. Thanks a lot.

DrePSP
07-14-2011, 01:24 PM