PDA

View Full Version : Newb to Saltwater

tacklejunkie
08-10-2007, 07:02 PM
Never fished in the ocean before.
Can anyone recommend a good place to go for my first time from shore?
What type of equipment and bait will I need? Doesn't really matter what I'm catching, just want to take the GF out to the beach since she loves it so much, and while I'm there maybe get a line wet :lol:

If I don't hear back, I'll probably end up split shotting nightcralwers off the rocks in malibu :lol:

I don't mind picking up a salt water pole. Let me know what I need! any tips on where to try would be greatly appreciated. I'm a complete newb to saltwater fishing :( Thanks in advance for any replies.

IslandBoi
08-10-2007, 07:11 PM
Depends on what ur fishing for....

Here is what I use

Shimano spinning reel w/6lb. izorline
7'7" abu garcia trout rod

I usxually target perch, corbina, croaker, small stuff :D haven't landed a halibut yet, but I'm trying.....

Setup - carolina rig = 1oz. egg slider w/flourescent bead, swivel w/1'-1' 1/1" flouro leader, w/size 4 or 2 mosquito hook (red in color)

vanillagurilla
08-10-2007, 09:30 PM
gimme a call tacklejunkie... i have a boat load of jigs and such. also some plastics for bass. your bait caster should to fine out there. just dont bring the 11, you know what pole im talkin about... i would set up 1 of your casters for bait, squid is allways a good choice will catch something on squid, and toss lures with your other pole. you can dropshot robos for bass or i have some plastics like i said. lemme know your welcome to them since i used up some of your robos last time. ps i have about 5-6 bags of storm swim baits in all kinds of colors. i can also set you up for a killer hallibut rig!

n1ckxlam
08-11-2007, 12:52 AM
I use the same rig as a trout rig fishing with power eggs, your basic carolina. the hook size should be about that size or smaller since you will be using sand crabs or so for bait.