PDA

View Full Version : Lake skinner 7/1. Sad day..

Totempole
07-01-2011, 06:17 PM
Well. Arrived at lake skinner this morning and had plenty space for shore fishing. Unfortunately didn't return or release any :.( here's the story. Despite the stocking tha lake on 6/30
Arrived at ramp 2 with few peeps already fishing at around 7. Decided to go a little further in between ramp1 and 2 shore fishing area. First 2 hrs nothing. Got nibbles and bait stolen but nothing to be proud of. ::: demoralized:::: let's see if we can get some kittys at another spot. So further we went intho this area where someone left a cutoff channel cat head on the beach :( first 20 mins BAM hook ok battled it for a good 2 min then snap:( ( I'm a beginner even on a 12# I can't even get it. :: even more demoralizing) ok ... 2nd try same spot. WHAM!! Fish on this time I'm sure I got it!! It was almost to shore! I can see it my gf could see it. Omg it was huge ( to my eyes about 1'6" Iono I thought it was big lol) I got so excited I reeled in faster and pulled the rod then SNAP!! Bye bye fish... I know it was a very stupid move I should have gotten the net. Or not pull the rod to hard n let it come drifting towards me. But it was my first cat in 8 yrs.. And I got trigger happy. I wanted to hold that cat and yell a truimphant YES! But to my stupidity I let it go... Well, to make me feel better as I headed back to my car I asked a couple fishers around and they said they got no bits . Then one told me a little girl got 2 cats a foot long. Gahhh, time to cry in my corner..Off to Lake Elsinore on my 3 day vaca from long beach. Any tips for lake Elsinore for these 2 beginners? I heard it was a good time for cats right now. Thanks.. Flame on :(:Crying:

P.A.W.
07-02-2011, 06:15 AM
You actually had one at the beach.... not too bad considering the slow day out there. I had a few dink stripers and a couple farmed LMB. Everyone I talked to on boats was having a slow day too. Good luck at Lake Smellsomore.