PDA

View Full Version : City Lake Spotted Bass 6/21/11

stressD
06-25-2011, 01:00 AM
I stopped by the local lake after work Tuesday and tried by luck for a couple of hours and managed to hook into a nice spotted bass. I thought it was a pretty bass with dark coloration so decided to share a couple of pics. Used 4 1/2" curly tail roboworm split shot rigged. May not look it but felt like 4lb+.

http://fishingnetwork.net/forum4/attachment.php?attachmentid=31365&d=1308988200
http://fishingnetwork.net/forum4/attachment.php?attachmentid=31363&d=1308988157

Ifishtoolittle
06-25-2011, 01:03 AM
Nice Job! Any pics?

stressD
06-25-2011, 01:15 AM
sorry had the album set on private view.

Ifishtoolittle
06-25-2011, 01:20 AM
I don't think it's a Spotty. It just seems like a very heavily colored LMB, but in any case it's still a nice fish.

stressD
06-25-2011, 01:49 AM
i'm no expert but this bass had a small mouth so i thought it was a spotted. maybe i was wrong.

fishmounter
06-26-2011, 12:38 AM
Did you happen to notice if it had sharp little teeth on it's tongue? If it did it was a Spotted Bass or a Spotted/Largemouth hybrid. It does have a rather small mouth. You probably don't want to say, what lake/park was it caught from?

Vman
06-26-2011, 10:23 AM
Yes, that is a nice pretty looking fish. It does resemble a spotted bass, but could be a pig largemouth with overgrown body and small head ( and heavy markings ).

If it 's a spotted bass then that would be the catch of a lifetime at a park lake. Nice fish regardless.

BTW, digging that beautiful Pflueger. Thought I was the only one considering buying it.

cutbait
06-26-2011, 10:35 AM
Its a LMB..

Super nice catch bro

cutbait
06-26-2011, 10:37 AM
For future reference, when its mouth is closed the lip will extend past the eye on lmb. Will not reach the eye on a spot

stressD
06-26-2011, 07:41 PM