PDA

View Full Version : TUBE VS Yak

atleasticaughtabuzz
06-19-2011, 10:02 PM
hey yall...im trying to decide between a Togiak and a sit-on top kayak for my first watercraft. i do about 85% freshwater fishing for bass, cats, trout, stripers, etc and have never gone saltwater fishing anywhere but a pier. i drive a small 95 civic (kayak goes on the roof with foam blocks n tie downs, tube goes in the trunk) and i am a broke college student so i need something affordable to buy and maintain (float tube cheaper to buy, kayak requires no maint.?) as far as portability, versatility, cost, n overall ease of use, what do you guys think? (cost meaning...tube: tube, waders, fins. kayak: shell n paddle). im pretty mechanically savvy so im pretty sure i can figure out how to rig both boats. pleeeeeeeese help!

P.S sorry if this is a topic thats been beaten to death

BassinChef
06-19-2011, 11:59 PM
I have a togiak and love it , its very compact and easy to inflate.one of the features i like about it is the backpack straps it has makes it easy to carry at the end of the day with all your tackle in it.My only knock against it is the back support is not the greatest but tolerable.I also drive a smaller car and it fits just fine and leaves plenty of room for your rods and flippers.
I only have used it for freshwater bass fishing too and it helps when you really want to get close to docks and other stuff i a eventually going to take it out to the salt and fish the bays.It all depends on what you feel will be more practical for you like do you live in an apartment or house , will u have storage space for a kayak, will you have easy access....i hope this helps you out some good luck

BC

Liteweight
06-20-2011, 01:49 AM