PDA

View Full Version : Rookie Needing Advice

Persian
05-26-2011, 12:03 PM
Hey everyone, Hope all is well.

I am new to the fishing world and itching to fish somewhere. I dont have a boat and I dont want to spend 200 bucks for me and my girlfriend to take a charter out until I get the hang of things.

I was hoping you guys could answer some questions to help me get started on this fishing adventure. I have done some Pier fishing in newport beach when I was a kid. We would catch a lot of mackeral but that is as much as i Know about fishing.

I live in Orange County Laguna Hills area. Where is the best spot to go fishing around here?

What type of equipment should I get? How thick should my line be and what type of bait should I use?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you

kzhlin
05-26-2011, 04:44 PM
Surf fishing with freshwater bass gear is an option. 6-12# line depending. get a Lucky Craft lure (LC) and you're set for some butts and other fish that you might encounter.

Or you can try the pier. But I have met a lot of annoying a**holes on the piers so I gave up pier fishing long ago.

Re8elmonk0341
05-26-2011, 04:51 PM
I agree. Start off with surf fishing. You can get a nice freshwater bass set up for fairly inexpensive pick up some fish crack or LC's find some sandy beaches and there you go. Good time and if you put some time into it good exercise too lol.

gletemfeelsteelgary
05-26-2011, 05:31 PM
Though you’ll spend a little bit o dough, I think ur odds of a great time are good..

Go rent a boat out of Newport Davey’s locker

They are skiffs about 14-15’-16’

Cost about 70-90 dollars depending on the boat…get some live anchovies or dines (whatever they have at the bait receiver…)

Fish in Newport Harbor off the skiff with live bait..

#2 or #4 (maybe #1 if the bait is big) short shank bait hooks will work
(NOT “baitholder”)

10 to 15lb test mono

7 to 7 ½’ spinning pole & reel

(go to a baitcaster after U get better at fishing)

Either flyline the bait