PDA

View Full Version : Halibut fishing/ or just help in general :)

fishnbug11
05-17-2011, 12:29 PM
Hey all im really new to this so bare with me if you can, after living in Santa Monica for 20 years and fishing off all the piers from SM to Redondo, im curious on going to fish on shore for Halibuts.

I am now livivng in Rancho Cucamonga(egypt):LOL: so basically im only a typical weekend warrior.

So what im asking is i need HELP!

I have been going to the piers lately(redondo+SM) only to catch small macs and sardines. We, my son (9 yrs) and i went to HB/newport pier last weekend with nothing but wind burn:Embarrassed:, so i think its off to shore fish for halibuts( i think ) but its all new to me. like where to go and what to use.

thanks in advance!

bones
05-17-2011, 01:07 PM
Start here.....Written by a good friend.

http://fishingnetwork.net/forum4/showthread.php?41562-Intro-So-you-want-to-catch-halibut-from-the-surf

fishnbug11
05-17-2011, 02:54 PM
OMG!!! that was awesome thanks so much Bones! So i can fish anywhere along the coast?

ghetto dad
05-17-2011, 03:08 PM
I know you want Halibut...but you might also (considering you have a 9 year old) want to consider doing some perch fishing on the beaches too...

check the surf reports forum....its been pretty good.....and it doesnt involve much tackle, etc...

have fun

GD

ghetto dad
05-17-2011, 03:11 PM
1. 6 lb test
2. 1/2 oz sliding sinkers
3. small black swivels
4. small beads
5. #6 Mosquito Hooks
6. 1 pack of GULP! camo sandworms

Carolina rigged....

GD

pm me if you have any other questions that I might be able to help you with....Ill do my best...

fishnbug11
05-17-2011, 04:27 PM
thanks everyone, hope to post some picures this weekend!! weather permitting:)

Which Way Out
05-17-2011, 04:42 PM
thanks everyone, hope to post some picures this weekend!! weather permitting:)

Like the pros above said X's 10
Good luck, have fun and Welcome to FNN

bsp
05-17-2011, 05:31 PM