PDA

View Full Version : wondering about the color of the trout meat I got from BBL

mchawkins707
05-17-2011, 01:10 AM
So my buddies and I were fishing BBL on saturday and we caught a few keepers. I was cleaning the fish later that night and all of them had the typical, tasty red meat of a hold over...except one. One of the fish had the external coloring of a post spawn rainbow male, even had the hooked lip and everything. But when I was cleaning it I noticed right away that the meat was white...Really really white. Not like a normal stocker trout. Like...a crappie. But this fish was clearly a very healthy rainbow trout, about 2 LB range. Does anybody have any ideas about this. Ive been fishing for about 21 years and consider my self fairly schooled on trout, but I'm hoping some of the experts can chime in on this topic.

Mike274
05-17-2011, 01:28 AM
Could have been one of the older trout. In the past not all trout had the pink meat though most seem to know. That does sound like a post spawner. They started spawning in April or so.

Trout Daddy
05-17-2011, 01:30 AM
Trout that are in reproductive mode always have paler flesh. Most of their energy at that time is going towards reproduction and not maintaining flesh.

fishfinder
05-17-2011, 07:36 PM
Diet is what changes the flesh. Zooplankton, crayfish, adn other invertebrate eggs will change the flesh color. If fed hatchery food, benthic insects, minnows, the flesh will be white-(ish). Something to do with carotinoids. Caratinoid uptake by fish is controlled by at least two genes. One makes a carrier protien found in the blood, and the other is a transporter protein that allows the pigment to accumulate in muscle tissue. If either gene is absent, you get white meat.

phishin phool
05-17-2011, 07:53 PM
Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!