PDA

View Full Version : LA Area Barracuda Fishing

HaFish
05-13-2011, 10:53 PM
I haven't fished on any of the open party boats out of Newport, Long Beach, Redondo, MDR, etc... and was wondering if anyone had some advice on which 1/2 day boat is the best. I am planning on taking 3 newbies on a 1/2 day trip for some of the barracuda action that's been going on. I have no experience with any of the landings in this area and some advise would be appreciated.

I was also wondering if someone could advise me on the type of tackle and weight of line I should use for the barracuda being caught out of these waters. I have caught barracuda before, but we were targeting Yellowtail at the islands when they happened to take our bait. Any help would be highly appreciated. Thank you guys!

kzhlin
05-13-2011, 11:24 PM
I haven't fished on any of the open party boats out of Newport, Long Beach, Redondo, MDR, etc... and was wondering if anyone had some advice on which 1/2 day boat is the best. I am planning on taking 3 newbies on a 1/2 day trip for some of the barracuda action that's been going on. I have no experience with any of the landings in this area and some advise would be appreciated.

I was also wondering if someone could advise me on the type of tackle and weight of line I should use for the barracuda being caught out of these waters. I have caught barracuda before, but we were targeting Yellowtail at the islands when they happened to take our bait. Any help would be highly appreciated. Thank you guys!

Check out the fishing reports section: http://fishingnetwork.net/forum4/forumdisplay.php?43-SoCal-Saltwater-Reports

Boats going out of redondo and nearby landings seem to be doing really well.

- swimbaits for bass with 1-2oz. hammer head jighead
- irons

Good luck,
Kevin

Hooked Up
05-13-2011, 11:57 PM