PDA

View Full Version : Addicted to Perchin'

jdietze
05-06-2011, 02:47 PM
This last week I started going down to the beach to try a little surf castin'. I can't believe I've never done it before!! I friggin live 5 blocks from the beach, what was I doing driving all over the southland looking for trout??? (I like trout alot, though...) Anyways, I managed some decent fishing in the last couple of evenings. The first BSP I ever caught was right around 2 lbs. (eyeballed the weight), it was a MONSTER!! Caught her (looked pregnant) on a 3" sexy smelt colored Big Hammer swimmie. The rest of the week I was reduced to catching mostly dinks (using motor oil grubs), with the odd batray thrown in. I hate those things, especially since I have been stung before... With that said, any tips on rigs or other good spots would be helpful, as well. Thanks...

ghetto dad
05-06-2011, 04:03 PM
good job....

check this thread...some surf fish reports up with some rec tackle....but if you want consistent bigger fish..you need to make the drive up north.....lots of smaller stuff around here..with few bigger ones mixed in....still fun to catch tho....bigger ones are moving in....just gotta get on the right spot..

GD

jdietze
05-06-2011, 07:27 PM
Thanks GD, your reports are one of the reasons I started venturing in to the surf. That fattie got me hooked, excuse the pun, but that was pure joy as far as fishing goes. Always enjoy looking at the bounty you post up here!

murrieta angler
05-06-2011, 08:52 PM
Nice job Bro,
What beach do you live at?
That will let other Locals know that your looking for some spots.
Robert
<><

ghetto dad
05-06-2011, 09:30 PM
Thanks GD, your reports are one of the reasons I started venturing in to the surf. That fattie got me hooked, excuse the pun, but that was pure joy as far as fishing goes. Always enjoy looking at the bounty you post up here!

DAMN!!! old GD's reports have inspired TWO people??? im blushing!! lol..thanks man....

GD

iLLest