PDA

View Full Version : hunington harbor fly question

gogreeenz4
04-01-2011, 10:45 AM
gonna luanch out of hunington harbor tomorrow at 7am in some kayaks and im new to the salt specially on the fly ive been on a boat using spinning reels 1 time.. im a die hard stream fly angler but thought itd be fun to try this out..what fly patterns should i use i have a bunch of clouser minnows but i was wondering more or less pattern colors that are working also i got some bigger bass bugs i was gonna toss but wondered what colors would work best in the minds off my fellow fnn pals thanks for any info anfd help

oldmaninsea
04-01-2011, 04:30 PM
Gogreeenz4,

I live about 1 mile from HH and have fished in many times. Best color patterns, though never with a fly, have been anchovy, sardine (blue/white, olive/white); plus: 3" BH swimmies in sexy smelt, redrum, bleeding olive herring, fongfish, olive herring, hot karl ... by the way, there are some big butts in there, too. seen 'em caught up to 20-25 lbs on live bait (usually anchovies) ... Hope that helps you out, and TIGHT LINES!
Oh yeah, and I'm sure you never would, but don't clean your catch in harbour waters - BIG FINE! someone did that about 2-3 mos. ago and i found i bet 20 cleaned spotty carcases floating near shore!!!

Tom
over and out

FLYFISHING MD
04-01-2011, 06:35 PM
try the orange and white clouser minnows i do real good at NPH on it ''dont take your spinning gear and stay with it '' good luck..

bowler
04-01-2011, 07:11 PM