PDA

View Full Version : Castaic Or Pyramid Friday Morning?

Fishinstoned
03-10-2011, 01:08 PM
Hey everyone, i'm new to FNN and so far all the info i've read on all the
local lakes has been very up to date so i thought i'd take my girlfriend fishing
over at either Castaic Lake or Pyramid Lake. I'm gonna be targeting Stripers,
LMB, & Trout. Castaic was stalked with 900lbs of trout March, 3 2011 so that's
7 days after the plant. Mabye some hold overs still cruisin around at the west ramp?
possibly some schoolie stripers playin "catch me if ya can" with the trout? Pyramid lake
was stalked with 900lbs of trout Febuary 27 2011, but for some reason i've noticed the stalker trout at pyramid seem to hold over longer than the Castaic stalkers. Anyone know why? Also the Pyramid Stalkers seem to be bigger and a stronger fight than Castaic trout. I've had good fishing at both Castaic & Pyramid throughout the years, Last trip to Pyramid with my girlfriend i happened to catch 3 holdovers and hooked into a 5lb+ LMB jigging for trout. Wasn't ready for the strike so my drag wasn't set and SNAP! Castaic i've caught tons of 1lb-6lb LMB 1lb bluegills tons and tons of trout and dink stripers nuthing over 1lb tho. So if anyone has any heads up on which lake i should take my girlfriend to for a good chance at putting some fish in bucket i'd really appreciate it. I'd really love to turn her onto to some good fishing
for her first real fishing trip. You real fisherman should know what i'm talkin about. That's how most of us now fishing got turned on right?

Heres a few photos from my last trip at Castaic Lake. The gills were caught on cut peices of nightcrawler with no weight at all tossed into small brush coves found on the campsite side of the lower lagoon. The LMB was caught on an Arons Magic purple & black plastic worm Drop Shoting the campsite side of the Lagoon. Happy Fishing.

Fishinstoned
03-10-2011, 01:49 PM