PDA

View Full Version : Hand painted lures

Thisfool
02-07-2011, 08:43 PM
ok so i recently started painting my own lures. i order unpainted lures and paint them

these or my first attempt's. they are 100% hand brush painted. it is obvious i borrowed some color patterns from some popular Rapalas and i know those colors work (gold and black/ silver and black).

The pink one was the first one i painted and i have already caught a trout on it while trolling at the vine and i was very confident that it would. but im not sure about the other ones so im just asking for all your guys opinions and advice on the color patterns i have made and maybe what i should try next

http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/a424/Travis_Hernandez/lure1.jpg

Danny300
02-08-2011, 12:38 AM
nice job bro....they would work for sure out here.

Thisfool
02-08-2011, 12:47 AM
thanks man.

5150fishn
02-08-2011, 12:22 PM
The lures look sweet bro! I would add a orange one too your arsenal. The ones you already painted look like vine specials to me.

Thisfool
02-08-2011, 01:25 PM
The lures look sweet bro! I would add a orange one too your arsenal. The ones you already painted look like vine specials to me.

yea thanks man i wanted to make an orange one but at the time i made those i only had a basic set of 6 colors. black, silver, white, blue, yellow, and red.

i tried very hard to mix my own green and my own orange but i was not to successful. the green on the yellow one is the closest i could get to a nice regular green and even the yellow on that one is a mixed color. i guess true yellow is much darker then you think i had to add white to it to get that yellow

DarkShadow
02-10-2011, 01:01 PM
Thisfool,

2 patterns that should be in EVERY lure manufacturer's color palette, but for some strange absurd reason, they are not.

1. Silverside Smelt

2. Threadfin Shad