PDA

View Full Version : Bass Lake, CA INFO PLEASE!

SoCalSteve
07-31-2007, 11:54 AM
This Sunday we leave for a week at a house on Bass Lake. It is my first time there and I plan to do alot of fishing. I will be bringing my float tubes, along with my 14' Gamefisher - BASSTUB.

Has anyone been there before that can offer advice both on Bass Lake itself, and the fishing it offers? I have done some research and found some info, but more is always better.

I love to fish for bass, so I will be doing that alot. But I also wanna put the kids on some fish, so maybe some bluegill or Crappie fishin. They allow boats on the water all night, so Ill probably go after some Catfish as well.

Any info is appreciated. Thanks.

I am posting this on the SoCal board as well.

Cabodude
08-01-2007, 08:40 AM
I was just at Bass Lake this past weekend and here is some advice.

Try Radical Glow Tubes in natural or the prototype blue/pearl silver Victim Digger, similar to a Captain Jack's Wee Tad, behind a Jumbo Jack Blade in blue/green tape at depths from 35 to 38 feet near the west end of Millers Bay or Indian Cove as long as possible in the morning then move to the Buoy Line by the dam after the boat traffic gets going for Kokanee. Tie the Glow Tube 14 inches behind a small Jack Blade and the Digger at 22 inches behind the blade.

Planter trout are landed on Wedding Rings tipped with a 'crawler at depths to four colors. Try putting any type of GULP on the tip of the hooks as well. They tend to concentrate more on scent then sight right now.

I landed some spotted bass on top water, buzz bait and RatLTraps near the subsurface grass from 4 a.m. till the sun hits the water. Also try the docks for some big largemouth bass. Try some GULP split tails in chartruse/white and dart them by the docks. The bass should come out and get them.