PDA

View Full Version : First striper is a DD

Cableguy
01-13-2011, 09:59 AM
Went home after work, no one there. Hmmm can I take a quick trip....absolutely. Headed close to home 10th st. west. 2 poles with 6'' super fluke on one and 4'' on other with 1/4 oz. on 12 lbs test. Water is low and no current. Walked 1 1/2 miles stopping every 20 yards and nothing. Headed back doing the same thing. Close to the bridge now and it's time to go. One more cast. Something hits but no takers. I'm new at this and not sure if it was the bottom. continue to glide fluke up and down and all of a sudden bam... I set hook and it's on. he took 40 feet of line the first run. I didn't want to lose my first one so I let it run. When he slowed down I adjusted the drag and brought him in 20 '. He turned and went out another 60'. "You are mine and your not getting off". We battled for about 15-20 minutes and he finally gave in. I pulled them up to the edge and netted him in. Best fresh water fight I ever had. (10.4 lbs) My son freaked when I took it out of the truck. Wife in kitchen, I went behind her and raised the fish close to her face for a scream. Great night.:Big Grin:

Double A
01-13-2011, 10:02 AM
nice fish,

that's a great way to kick off your addiction

madwire3
01-13-2011, 10:05 AM
way to go, nice report... nice fish man gets the blood pumping dont it

yolo
01-13-2011, 10:18 AM
Way to make your mark. Your first fish is a beauty.

stphnman20
01-13-2011, 10:32 AM
Very nice!

Congrats!

Cableguy
01-13-2011, 10:39 AM
Thanks guys. Couldn't do it with out all the great advice you guys give. Can't wait for the weekend.

adicfor
01-13-2011, 11:38 AM
Nice fish. Its fun when they take off on you and pull line.

5BassReaper7
01-13-2011, 11:44 AM
thats a beauty. Excellent catch !

gletemfeelsteelgary
01-13-2011, 11:55 AM
very nice WORK THERE..

hUGE CONGRATS !

Way ta roll....

saweet !

Bassnman Mike
01-13-2011, 12:03 PM
Now thats what I'm talkin about!

Great way to kill the Duct Skunk!