PDA

View Full Version : Are Aqueduct Stripers Healthy to eat?

Bassnman Mike
01-05-2011, 06:26 AM
I saw a reply to a post saying not to eat fish out of the aqueduct because of contaniments in the water and it started to make me wonder, could they be unhealthy to consume? I'm no duct expert, far from it, so the following is just my opinion.

I know there are alot of bodies of water that I would never consider eating fish out of for various reasons but I figured the water in the duct would be pretty clean due to the natural filtration of the water flowing along the cement walls. In my opinion the stripers in the duct seem to fight better than lake stripers, at least the few I've hooked. I tend to believe this is because they are constantly swiming in current. Wouldnt that mean they are healither?

I'm not attempting to "Stir the Pot" with this post so please dont take it that way, I'm just curious. Please post up your thoughts and opinions on this subject.

BassnMan Mike

cutbait
01-05-2011, 07:58 AM
Duct water is used for drinking water by metropolitan water districts customers. I Can't see how you could drink it but it not be healthy to eat fish out of it?

Metropolotin does treat and filter the water. Every body of water you will find contamination of fish poop and run off. Its just the nature of it.

The state does monitor the water quality and has specific paramaters for the water quality. 70% is used for "urban" use and only 30% for ag..

http://www.water.ca.gov/swp/

yolo
01-05-2011, 08:41 AM
Mike, it's fine to eat. Driving to your favorite fishing hole is more dangerous than eating the fish.

gletemfeelsteelgary
01-05-2011, 09:23 AM
The duct is most likely some of the cleanest enviroment you will be able to take fish out of....

If the fish are bad and water quality poor......then I should be growing a third knee by now...

Ohh wait.... I do have one growing....Uhhh-oh !