PDA

View Full Version : First Deep sea trip ever, questions.....

FishinFireFighter
12-19-2010, 01:46 PM
I fish freshwater about twice a week so Im not a total noob to fishing but this will be my first deep sea trip and Im not sure what to bring with me so I hope someone can shed some light on me.
We leave on Jan 13-17 out of S.D. to Mexico. I bought an Avet rod and two speed reel so thats taken care of but I dont fish with bait on the lakes here I like to fish lures. I know a lot of the trip will be live bait but what kind of lures will work this time of year out of mexico?? I have a Diawa satwater casting combo Im going to bring along for casting out lures.

Thanks in advance!!

bassyakker
12-19-2010, 06:04 PM
You will be codding more likely. Bring plenty of heavy sinkers 12-16oz. Get some Jax jigs, those are killer on the rock fish. Or try some type of knife jig if there are yellows around.

LA Smoker
12-20-2010, 01:06 PM
Salas 6X and/or 6X jr, blue and white and scrambled egg are good colors. Jax Jig Copper and Orange. Squid strips will most likely be the most productive. Be gentle with the bait.

Spaulding
12-20-2010, 02:09 PM
Speaking of scrambled egg, bring some Bonine. When I went out of SD for Albacore a few years back, dudes were barfing breakfast everywhere due to being seasick. I thought I was in the sick bay unit of the boat! ..NASTY..Their chumming did produce for me though!
Good luck to you.

DockRat
12-20-2010, 06:31 PM
6, 8 oz Torpedos too.
Good Luck, DR

http://animatedknots.com/

FishinFireFighter
12-21-2010, 10:35 AM
Thanks guys!!! Im pretty excited about this trip I hope I can pull em' in on something other than bait. Im going with my father-in-law and uncle but they only fish bait so it will be awesome to brag about catching on lures :)

lovefofish
12-21-2010, 07:47 PM
get a rental rod just in case

FishinFireFighter
12-22-2010, 06:32 PM