PDA

View Full Version : Fishing The Aqueduct

Kilo818
12-02-2010, 07:42 PM
Fishing the California Aqueduct can be real fun and challenging but thats fishing. Before I continue I would like to say im no expert at fishing the duct.
I Have only been fishing the duct for about 3 years, Tried alot of things some work and some dont but than again it might work for others. I did alot of
research on fishing the duct got alot of help from others and info from fellow FNN members they are very helpful and I would like to thank the o thnes that
helped me become the fisherman I am today. Gary (feel the steel), Yolo, Trail Blazer, Cut Bait I have read all the posts they put on FNN and it was very
Informative, So I wanted to Thank you guys before I went on.

As many of you guys know the duct holds alot of large Stripers and Catfish I have fished for both species and they are both fun to fish for and I would
like to share with you guys whats been working for me. Stripers are my favorite to fish for at the duct, I only use lures for stripers at the duct they are
very productive and fun to fish with. I use the KPN lipless crank baits for a number of reasons, The action of the lure, the colors, and because it an 1oz
lure.For those of you who dont know what the KPN lure looks like or where you can get it I will post a picture of it and info.

Fishing the KPN lure

Recomendations

7-8 foot rod

15 pound line (or heavier if you prefer)

Lip Gripper or Net

Ok once you are all set and at the duct adjust your drag to be able to feed line but tight enough to be able to set your hook when you get hit. You will need
to cast the lure up stream at a 45 degree angle start reeling as soon as the lure hits the water I would say about 30% of the time thats when you will get
hit. Retrieve at different speeds now that it is colder I like to retrieve slower than I normaly would but make sure you are not dragging the lure on the