PDA

View Full Version : rebuilding a penn

bstolton
10-20-2010, 06:25 PM
I have a penn 220 gto reel that has a bad bearing. I would like to rebuild it, I have the schematic, but I have never done this before. Can it be upgraded with better bearings and drags or any other improvements or am I just waisting my time and money.

exfactor
10-20-2010, 06:39 PM
Changing the bearings is pretty simple. There aren't upgrades for that drag system. Make sure you use grease for the levelwind and gears. A little tricky getting the levelwind back together on the reel, but besides that, no prob. If you get in a bind pm me. Mikey ps keep the bearings oiled with light reel oil, they cost 20 bucks to replace

Nessie Hunter
10-21-2010, 07:39 AM
I have a penn 220 gto reel that has a bad bearing. I would like to rebuild it, I have the schematic, but I have never done this before. Can it be upgraded with better bearings and drags or any other improvements or am I just waisting my time and money.

What does it do that makes you think it has a bad bearing???
It only has 2 bearings..

I would suggest you look at some picture tutorials on Reels before you start, it will give you a good idea what is what.
How to lay out the parts in order, what tools are needed, what basically goes where and what to Oil & what to grease. (Google Alan Tani).

If you get stuck, post it up, many of us will gladly lend a hand...
Some of us have boxes of used parts also (just in case)!!!!

Good luck, watch for things that go BOING !!!! LOL

bstolton
10-21-2010, 06:48 PM
Thanks for the info guys. I haven`t taken it apart yet to see whats messed up, but last time I used it froze up while reeling in and its hard to turn even by hand. If I do need to replace bearings or any other parts whats a good source?

Nessie Hunter
10-22-2010, 09:49 AM
If im reading that right..
Bearings dont freeze up in the middle of reeling in or casting , not that I can picture anyway.