PDA

View Full Version : need help please

Jennings11
10-17-2010, 04:48 PM
Im kinda new to aqueduct fishing, ive always used bait there and had some luck but i would like to learn a few different techniques so im not just confined to watching a pole.

I love to bass fish in lakes / ponds, i already own quite a bit of tackle, tubes, cranks, topwater hard plastics, worms and many other soft plastics and spinners/buzz baits. I own a few BPS extreme baitcasters which i use for this. I plan on trying to use them for throwing the tubes and lipless crankbaits tomorrow morning in the duct.

My questions really are, What is a good way to start? I will have one pole rigged for a tube, one for a crankbait and one for topwater.

Is the best way to just cast upstream and just bring it back? or is there a prefered way on the retreive?

I really dont have the cream of the crop for duct fishing tackle but it is somthing i would like to get into as my wife and i love the taste of striper.

Is 18 inches the legal limit and only 2 per day?

Thankyou for any help to point me in the direction of a tight line.

yolo
10-17-2010, 06:36 PM
There is no minimum size in the Antelope Valley to Hesperia duct section. The limit is 10 fish. If you are in Kern county of the duct the minimum size is 18" and a limit of two. Cast in all directions and work the bottom, mid, to under the surface. The lures you mentioned will all work.

Jennings11
10-17-2010, 08:24 PM
thanks for the reply, is there any baits that are like "go to's" when nothing else seems to be working?

I hear alot about KPN, where can i buy some?

And what is drift fishing??

yolo
10-18-2010, 07:12 AM
Any lipless crank works. At least they do for me. You can buy the KPN from the link at the right side of these boards. Soft and hard jerkbaits work excellent too like Luckycraft pointer or Rapala xrap, bucktails with or without trailer. If you like to throw bigger lures, the Bomber long A 6" is a good one too?