PDA

View Full Version : what type of line is best to use for swimbaits

goose2foru
10-08-2010, 03:17 PM
Hello,
I am new to the west coast and a avid bass fisherman of some experience. however I am not use to swimbait fishing but gonna igve it a try this winter when the trout are being stocked. I normally fish casitas and castaic. I am getting a new Gloomis bbr964c and going to pair it with a curado 300. however I am wondering what line to use some people say that braid is the way to go and others say that they like the little bit of stretch that mono gives. I have no problems handling a bait casting reel so I am not worried about backlashes and the heavy baits breaking off. I would appreciate any feedback on whta line to use and also any methods of fishing the 7 and 8 8inch swimbaits at theese two lakes. I have only been on this network for a month know and have already made a report of castaic about two weeks and will be heading out there again this comeing thursday to slay some stripers and hopefully get that dd lmb that has eluded me on the east coast for so many years if you see a inked up skinny guy in front of a 18 foot bayliner cobra (black with a 150) on the back idle up and say high. Thank you...

bsp
10-08-2010, 04:24 PM
Yeah, braid is not good unless you bump it up to 80lb for big topwaters like Lunker Punkers. Use 20lb line on the Curado 300 and you will be good. Castaic upper doesn't have many DD largemouth anymore, but the lower lagoon has a good, and very educated population. Don't expect to hit a DD your first time out using swimbaits, and prepare to be skunked more times than not if you dedicate to them all day. What baits are you planning on tossing?

goose2foru
10-08-2010, 04:50 PM