PDA

View Full Version : Fishing Noobie at the Lagoon

cnxrurouni
09-28-2010, 10:32 AM
Hello Guys! I'm new to fishing, but trying to get into it. I've gone around 4-5 times and haven't caught anything :( I'm sure I'm doing something wrong, are there any tips to fish from the shoreline on the lagoon? We've used nightcrawlers and all kinds of hooks, but all we ever pull in is A LOT of weed. Is there any way to avoid all that weed too?

SDDave
09-28-2010, 11:16 AM
This time of year the algae starts up and slimes most of all baits, try fishing earlier and later, the heat isn't helping, at least there pumping water right now, look at some of the posts from the hot sticks that are fishing at night time.
I would hit up the upper lake right now instead of the lower, get with some of the guys on the shore line and ask what there using, maybe one of them will take you under there wing and help you out.
Just keep at it...

hamneggs
09-28-2010, 12:33 PM
The best way to learn about a lake as big as Castaic is to try a guided trip. You'd be amazed how much you learn from one outing (not to mention all the fish you will end up catching). Just don't complain when you have to filet and gut all the stripers.

stg68
09-28-2010, 01:42 PM
Hello Guys! I'm new to fishing, but trying to get into it. I've gone around 4-5 times and haven't caught anything :( I'm sure I'm doing something wrong, are there any tips to fish from the shoreline on the lagoon? We've used nightcrawlers and all kinds of hooks, but all we ever pull in is A LOT of weed. Is there any way to avoid all that weed too?

This time of year the algae starts up and slimes most of all baits, try fishing earlier and later, the heat isn't helping, at least there pumping water right now, look at some of the posts from the hot sticks that are fishing at night time.