PDA

View Full Version : a very bad day at work

ramonpaezrrt
09-23-2010, 08:58 PM
this is the general section of the forum and i need to vent

3 things u need to know before reading this post

1) i am a respiratory therapist who works at a hospital..

2) cant tell u detailed info about the people who were involved bec of privicy

3) these things usually dont effect me idk y this one did

i was working in the ER the other day and i had a 9 month old infant come in for SIDS (sudden infant death syndrome) and it has not been breathing for over 20 min... when it came to us it was cold and u can tell this was gunna be a grim case...i was doing chest compressions as my coworker was bagging the kid ( breathing for it) after 5 min of compressions we were gunna call it...then the grandmother came back and she was screaming.... crying and yelling....( she worked in the ER but i never seen her before) she then looked me in the eyes and said " u dont stop u hear me... dont stop" the dr looked at us and said "it is time... time of death ____" the grandmother then screamed and it pierced my soul...i cannot forget this... her face the kid..nothing...

thanks for reading

mil sonrisas
09-23-2010, 09:51 PM