PDA

View Full Version : Got skunked @ Coachella Canal

VietReefer
08-24-2010, 01:19 AM
Hi all
I'm a noob to the desert area. Just spending a couple months here at my gf's place to study for my stateboards. She's a pharmacist at Walgreens. I've been lurking on the forum for couple of days and read so much successful fishing stories @ the canal. I tried the canal that runs to lake cahuilla @ Jefferson & 54th, lake Cahuilla, and the Coachella Canal @ Dillon & 44th. Out at the 7,8 times those I fished these places, I got 1 tiny catfish (released) & another 1-2 lb channel cats which I kept to show my gf I got something, because she always said I always come home with nothing. Most of the time I used shrimps, chicken livers, nightcrawlers, bugs and even squid & powerbait. But most of the time nada. I don't catch anything despite numberous great report from other people who fished the canal.
Would someone who's familiar with the area & the canal pinpoint me some locations to fish on the canal. I wouldn't ask for your secret spots or holes but just which segment of the canal (which cross streets) I can fish with more success.
Is there any specific techniques to catfish fishing? I usually just have the sinker on the bottom, #4 hooks 1-2 feet up, cast out and wait for a bite. Am I doing anything wrong?
Also, I see some commom carp occassionally on the canal, is there any specific techniques and bait to fish them?
Thank you so much. Just gonna be in the desert for another month or so before I move back home.

VietReefer
08-24-2010, 05:00 AM
Please move to the Colorado River sub-forum, I post this thread in the wrong forum. Thanks

Desertfishen2
08-24-2010, 07:30 PM