PDA

View Full Version : Jess Ranch?

Mudslide
08-16-2010, 01:45 PM
Hitting it up for the first time tomorrow with my friend and daughter. Plan on using Powerbait for trout...would appreciate any advice. Thanks!

Piss on Myspace
08-16-2010, 02:04 PM
Jess ranch in Apple Valley is only open Friday - Sunday....8am - 4pm...
As far as tips, haven't been in a while, but last time i was there, water was gin clear....far casts with a light leader should work...also, its hot as balls in the dirt, soooo definitely the earlier the better.
You can also bring some senkos, and flyline them along the weeds for bass, if the trouting is slow...good luck

Mudslide
08-16-2010, 02:21 PM
Oh heck you're right! I didn't realize this was a weekend only pond....*sigh* thanks for the heads up! From what I have read it seems pretty easy to limit out on fish at the 'limit' pond at Jess Ranch. i'm pretty new to fishing and have only used the power bait (with great effect) for trout. Correct me for my fishing ignorance but the senkos are like worm jigs right? if i'm wrong feel free to forum slap me and enlighten me, thanks!

Piss on Myspace
08-16-2010, 02:39 PM
yeah man, glad i can save you a headache....in the cooler months, yes, limits are common at the Ranch. in summertime, i imagine it could get difficult. im not sure if you're talking about the big lakes, or the angling pond that they sell fish for 3.50? a piece. Best advice is to get there earlier, or fish deep or near moving water when the temp heats up. Also for trouting, i would look into fishing artificials...jigs, powerworms and lures, i get bored waiting for that bait bite...and yeah, senkos are straight plastic worms (Google 'em)... best setup- flyline (weightless) and whacky rigged
don't be affraid to ask ?'s....gluck man

EL_CHIDO
08-16-2010, 02:42 PM
Is the trout bite even on @ Jess Ranch right now??

I think the mountain lakes would be better (Jenks, Greg, BB).