PDA

View Full Version : Bishop area fishing report

LuckyJack
07-23-2007, 12:03 PM
This is my first post although I have been reviewing this forum for several months. I just got back from fishing in the bishop area this past week. Normally I like to fish the backcountry lakes above South Lake, but a bad hip stopped me from the hike in. I arrived in the afternoon of the 17th and fished Bishop Creek for a hour or so. Caught and released about 10 planters of average size on glup eggs. I don't like to eat stocked fish. I then went to Intake II for a little jig and fly and bubble fishing. Not productive at all. Normally, we do quite well there but only caught and released 2 stockers. Windy conditions.

I decided to try Convict lake the next day as I had not been there in a few years. It was very crowded and I left in a hour or so catching only 2 stockers. I then when to North Lake and caught and released 20 plus stockers almost exclusively on Berkley glup eggs. I also caught a twin pair of Alper 4 pounders, one on the glup egg and one on an Olive Matuka. I decided to keep them since I had heard they were pink fleshed fish and were good eating. I had left my camera in the car so no pictures at the Lake. I did take a picture of them on the filet board at home. However the picture size exceeded the size limitations on this forum so I could not include it. I could not figure out how to reduce the size of the picture.

As I said I normally hike in to the back country to fish but since I could not this time, at least the fishing was good at North Lake and Bishop Creek.

We did eat one filet when I got back that evening and it was very good. I only like to eat pick fleshed trout from the backcounty lakes, but the Alper was pretty darn good.

Jack

Sue
07-23-2007, 11:20 PM
Nice report, I'm going up tomorrow night (24th) to start fishing at daybreak Wednesday.
Stopping at Intake II before I get to the Lodge - yay, am way excited :D

Wingnut
07-24-2007, 10:56 AM