PDA

View Full Version : confused about keeping or releasing fish

jimnyo
07-10-2010, 10:30 PM
**WARNING! potential stupid question ahead...** :LOL:

ok, so like i said, i'm a total newbie and i'm reading thru posts as much as i can to figure out what i'm supposed to be doing. i'm confused about the whole catch and release thing. on the one hand, i'd like to keep the fish i catch to eat it (if i ever catch any...). however, i've seen on several posts people tsk tsking people for not returning certain fish to the water, i guess b/c they're so big? i'm not sure why...but then in other posts it seems people get pissed at others who are doing "catch and release" b/c it seems to kill the fish? so can someone please clarify whether or not it's ok to keep the fish i catch, why/why not, when it's ok, etc.? thank you sooooo much!

smokehound
07-10-2010, 11:28 PM
Personally, i have no beef with anyone keeping a fish, so long as you intend to actually eat it.

but there are those that just like to parade the carcass around with no intention of consuming it. Not only is that just terrible, and a waste of a meal someone else could have eaten, but it's also against the law. Often these people will freeze a fish and never use it, throwing it out to make room...

Keeping a bass is often frowned upon in smaller lakes, because they are important for lake health. That and people dont like to see a fish they respect and revere defiled in such a manner.. Now in a larger lake, however, its more accepted. When bluegill populations explode, they consume so much food, that all the fish, except for the larger bass stunt and stay tiny, due to depleted insect/crustacean forage.

You dont want to eat a fish that spent 4-5 years in a park lake, anyway. Blech. thats very dangerous, they put tons of pesticides in that grass, and during winter that all goes into the lake. And duck poop.

Largemouth bass legal size is now 15 inches in many lakes.