PDA

View Full Version : Slow in all creeks.

chas83
04-04-2010, 08:28 PM
Just finished trying all of the early opener creeks this last week and was very disappointed in the DFG's efforts during the early opener. I've been fishing the early opener creeks for many years now (except for last year) and this was the worst action by far.
This is what the following creeks produced amongst 5 fisherman each fishing about 6 hours in each creek:
Cottonwood planted last week produced only 3 fish.
Tuttle Creek planted last week produced 3 fish.
Lone Pine Creek planted 3 weeks ago produced 3 fish.
Symmes Creek I searched for it with GPS and maps in hand but found only a small line of brush that would be almost impossible to plant or fish in.
Shepherds Creek I found it but it was also way to small and after finding a rotted out dead cow laying at the edge of creek I wouldn't want to eat anything caught out of that creek either.
Lone Pine Sandtrap produced 0 fish their was about 30 other fisherman shoulder to shoulder on the sandtrap for about 2 to 3 hours with not 1 fish caught by anyone!
The small sandtrap that is about 5 miles north of Lone Pine is now unaccessable due to the road construction.
The Owens River was unfishable due to the Water Dept flushing the river.

So with this experience I guess I will have to agree with others when they say that fishing in the Eastern Sierras is at an all time low.

Joshua
04-05-2010, 08:00 AM
Sucks that you had limited success out there. However, it makes me feel a little better because I have been dying to get out there for some early season action. Based on your report, there wasnt much action to be had.
You would think the would plant heavy for the Easter weekend. Maybe they are going to plant triple for the general opener.

chas83
04-05-2010, 09:07 PM