PDA

View Full Version : What Now?

Full_Stringer
03-14-2010, 09:35 AM
Hey everyone! Just picked up a new Fish Cat 4. Still have it in the box. I am a complete newb to float tubing. I have NEVER been, nor have I seen anyone do it, except on the internet. LOL. It just seems like so much fun!!! I will mostly be using it in our So. Cal. lakes and occasionally taking it to the harbours etc...
All I have is the float tube atm. After spending a few days reading up on these forums, I kinda got a jist of what I need now... Here are a few questions I have, if anyone could help.

1.) Waders- Basically, stocking or with boot? I have never tried on waders before so I have no personal preferance, what would you guys recommend? Something universal, for ocean, lake, summer, winter, etc...

2.) Fins- Typical fins from Bass Pro or the like?

3.) Rod Holders- Should I buy the ones at the store or make my own? It seems a little complex to piece em' together?

4.) Ummmm.... Where do you guys put the fish? LOL

5.) There is room in the back of the Fish Cat, what do you guys put there? Cooler for drinks etc?

6.) Fish Finder...I am going to get one of these puppies for sure, but is it a must have item atm?

7.) Anything else? Am I missing something here that I would need to know or have?

One last thing, where can I get information about tubing the lakes and harbours? Where to launch, any rules etc..?

Thanks everyone in advance for taking the time to read through all of this. Hopefully I can get some help. I am very excited to go out but kinda nervous as well.

Also, can you float tube at night in any of our lakes here? Corona, etc...

Nessie Hunter
03-14-2010, 10:14 AM
Waders;
I have always used the Stocking foot type, that gives me the option to wear the same fins when its hot and I dont use the waders.
Otherwise you need two pair of fins, the boots are way to big to use one pair...