PDA

View Full Version : Lake Piru Please HELP!!!

Basstracker175
03-08-2010, 07:45 PM
Hello,
I am new to FNN and bass fishing. I was concidering a little recon trip to Lake Piru to try to learn the lake and possible catch some bass. I was hoping for some help on what to look for as far as locations and structure around the lake, lure color or rigging that may produce this time of year. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Fire Ball
03-08-2010, 08:26 PM
I actually caught my first bass there and it was on a chartreuse spinnerbait. There are a lot of weeds there, at least when I went so I was focusing on those a lot. I'm not sure if there still are a lot of weeds considering it is winter, but look for them. The water isn't that clear, so you should be able to use any colors that will get noticed by the fish better.

cjcates007
03-08-2010, 09:19 PM
try working your way back into coves with direct warming sun. Bass are moving up now scouting spawning sites. Slow roll a shad color spinnerbait or drop shot a roboworm, or throw a green pumpkin or watermelon trailer and brown jig. Any of those methods should work on all these lakes around here. Water is still in the 50's, so work slow, nothing too fast. Once you see temps in the mid 60's it should be game on for other lures including topwater. Good luck.

Ray Lopez
03-09-2010, 07:07 AM
i don't have too much experience on this lake but i do know from others that fish it on the regular, that it is a spinner bait lake. Last time i was there i was out slinging my d/s robos and some cranks for nothing but watched a few guys tossing bright colored spinner baits and slamming um off cliff walls and back in the coves. Good luck out there!

Cangler
03-09-2010, 08:24 AM
All i do when i go there is work my way up the left side near the cliffs

baitmaster
03-09-2010, 04:08 PM