PDA

View Full Version : finally caught a fish today at the goon!!!

captain skunked again
03-04-2010, 03:56 PM
im fairly new to bass fishing i have stuck to trout and channel fish and sometimes bluegill. My buddies just recently turned me onto bass this year... We started goin out about 3 weeks ago seemed like every other morning. We would get up at the butt crack off dawn drive out to castaic from valencia park at the fire station and start our treck over to the lake. (we are cheap asses who dont wanna waste money on a parking pass) when we first started goin a few weeks ago we would walk to the far buoy line next to the spillway and throw on crankbaits swimbaits and spinners and nothin was bitin. We couldn figure out why? We started to get sloppy as we kept casting out and retrieving over and over and over again.

i mean really sloppy like gettin 15.00 lures stuck on rocks or in trees lol...but as you can see from the picks we dont leave a man behind lol...

after about 2 weeks of all three of us not catching a damn thing we ran into ray and rees and they showed us the godly wonders that the drop shot and oxblood robo worm could do. After we were taught whats up it was all smooth sailin from there my buddy matt pulled a good size bass out followed by my other buddy chad pullin two... but as for me, nothin just a big goose egg...

we were fishin the east shoreline all up and down and still nothing. i made it a personal mission to catch a fish and still nothing... i have gone out 4 times this week including today and got skunked every time.. But today i got to the lake at around 7:30 am i threw out a night crawler and let it sit for ***** and giggles than threw out the oxblood d/s and on the third cast got hammered i reeled it and caugth a nice little 1-2 pounder...