PDA

View Full Version : 02/19/10 redondo beach king harbor

E.A.R.G.
02-19-2010, 02:59 PM
don't know how to edit the title... but it was 02/18 night- 02/19 early morning

fished after work. got there at 11 30pm and fished til about 3 AM

I'm really kind of new to this harbor thing, so I went over to sav on tackle and loaded up on some gulp

Got to the harbor and started throwing out a 5 inch jerk shad camo on a 1/4oz jig head and couldnt keep the mackerel off. Didn't want to keep wasting expensive gulp on mackerel so I switched to a LC 110 minnow for nothing

Proceeded to make my way through the harbor, now tossing a dropshotted gulp ghostshrimp. got a few hits but nothing solid.

Tried the jerk shad once more but once again, couldnt keep the mackerel off of it. these mackerel are starting to get HUGE

Put the ghost shrimp on the jighead and bounced it off the bottom, the mackerel didn't seem to care too much for the gulp ghost shrimp. I thought they were all the same scent? Am I wrong here?
Anyways,
with the mackerel not hitting my gulp, i was able to get it to the bottom. Picked up a nice sandie about 14-15 inches, a baby calico about 7 inches and lost another good sandie.

all in all a good night sorry no pics, dont have a digi cam yet

all fish released except the 7 inch calico that went into the steamer

jk

anyone fish here on this board? any tips for a newbie fishing harbors at night? Really want to get into this
I'm tossing a luna203 on a kencor swimbait pole, and a abu garcia soron stx on a phenix 7foot pline 12 and 6. any tips and info would be greatly appreciated! thanks

BSalvati
02-19-2010, 03:18 PM
Calico's need to be at least 12 inches to be legal.

Fishbones
02-19-2010, 03:27 PM
Good job beating the skunk with the bass. i want to head down there in the next few weeks.