PDA

View Full Version : mono or braid?

rjonly
02-19-2010, 11:56 AM
Hey guys I'm just getting into the swimbait deal and I have already lost 2 9" punkers on the 20lbs maxima should I be making the switch over to braid? if so what do you guys recomend. I have a luna 300 with a okuma XH swimstick. Your help is greatly appreciated

vanillagurilla
02-19-2010, 01:17 PM
braid is not your friend with swimbaits and will still snap off if you get a birdsnest. try 25lb p-line. or maybe a different knot? lol

Stormcrow
02-19-2010, 01:52 PM
Go with braid bro. 50 lb power pro. All you need.

bsp
02-19-2010, 02:09 PM
If you're throwing 9in Punkers and want to use braid then give 80lb a try to minimize the backlash break off problem (avoid Power Pro if you can), but you don't need it. 25lb mono (Big Game, Triple Fish Camoescent, Izorline XXX, P-Line CXX) is fine and a bit more versatile since you don't have to tie on topshots when you switch to other baits. Plus it's cheap so you can change it often, and that's a necessity if you're swimbait fishing.

calico killer kevin
02-19-2010, 02:12 PM
I use braid a lot and have no prolem with 65lb and 20-25lb fluoro leader on my Curado 300 for Punkers.
How are you breaking off. May not be the line.

marc626
02-19-2010, 02:14 PM
I think you just gotta step it up to 25lb. maxima is ok...but yeah big game or p line. Don't see why braid would be a problem if the line and reel are in good condition.

DarkShadow
02-19-2010, 03:01 PM

Good observation.

If you are breaking off due to operator error, you will be in a world of hurt if you switch over to braid. You'll be losing more than a Punker.

rjonly
02-19-2010, 03:09 PM
I use braid a lot and have no prolem with 65lb and 20-25lb fluoro leader on my Curado 300 for Punkers.

I have recovered my punker more than once with about 1-2 feet of line on it. So I know its not my knot. I might have just got a bad batch of line? I hear this stuff is suppose to be the shiznit.

DarkShadow