PDA

View Full Version : Need help for a beginner in bass fishing

Tora
01-20-2010, 11:33 AM
I want to get started in bass fishing and was wondering what the best all purpose setup (rod and reel) would be. I was looking at the St. Croix Premier Series Trigger rod in the 6'6" or the St. Croix Mojo Bass Trigger in the 6'8" paired with a Shimano Curado or Citica Low Profile baitcast reel.... I'm sorry but I'm a beginner at this and want one good setup that can be used for a lot of stuff. I really like St Croix rods and Shimano reels. Any help would be appreciated!!!!

vanillagurilla
01-20-2010, 11:39 AM
i would advise a 6'6"-7' rod with a curado 200 or 100 if you can find one with 6lb izor xxx. ive done everything with this setup. D/S, spinnerbaits, crankbaits, t-rig, c-rig, flyline senkos and ikas. i even use it to fish the bay but i use a different reel. brand of rod is a personal choice but i like shimano rods or diawa. to this day i use a shimano convergence rod and a corvalus 200 for almoast everything. the main thing is get a MEDIUM action rod with a fast taper. this will give you some back bone with the tip being soft enough to throw flylined baits or to fish a spinnerbait.

DarkShadow
01-20-2010, 02:32 PM
Powell 703 CEF or something similar. You can also use a 702 if u want something a tad lighter.

In a pinch, my 703 has thrown a bunch of different baits in various situations and is a great all around rod in this age of technique specific marketing.

Fire Ball
01-20-2010, 05:30 PM
For an all purpose baitcaster, I would go with a a 7 foot, medium-heavy power, fast action rod and then just about any low profile baitcaster spooled with 12 lb test copolymer or fluorocarbon line. As for a spinning setup, probably a 7 foot, medium power, fast action, then a good 2500 size reel with 8 or 10 lb test. Just my :My Two Cents:.

The Mojo Bass series of rods are awesome and Shimano Citicas are pretty nice.

vanillagurilla
01-20-2010, 05:39 PM