PDA

View Full Version : Probably a dumb question, but I have to ask.

Trout Seeker
01-08-2010, 08:39 PM
Being a novice to the fishing scene, but wanting to learn and be a part of it, I have what is probably a dumb question. When you are fishing with Power Bait, is it best to us a single or treble hook...and what size???????

Danny300
01-08-2010, 08:43 PM
you can do it either way bro......i use a single hook because i like to release the trout when i ever do decided to trout fish...i think i use either a #10 or #12 hook

old pudd fisher
01-08-2010, 09:08 PM
I am no pro fisherman my self but been fishin off and on for trout for years. And prefer a size 10 or 12 treble hook because it holds the bait on better. Use about a 2 foot leader tied to a swivel and a sliding egg sinker above the swivel. Good luck with that.

retired96
01-08-2010, 09:44 PM
If using a treble hook I only use a small size 18 for power bait. You don't need a huge gob of bait..

Sierra_Smitty
01-09-2010, 09:03 AM
I agree with retired...sometimes less is more....small glob, size 18 treble. I actually sell more 16's than 18's at my shop but that's most likely because we're right on the creek so we sell tons of salmon eggs, which fish better on a 16 or even 14.

Dough baits are better fished with treble hooks as the bait tends to be easily casted off of a single hook. IMO C&R really doesn't factor into it as a bait caught fish, unless luckily lip hooked (very rare with dough bait), should never be released unless the line is cut so you lose the hook either way.

asmacsbob
01-10-2010, 11:20 AM
use a size 10 baitholder and crimp the barb down...or file away...also use 2lb test max...in a lake you dont need more than that...then you dont need leaders

sb fishing
01-11-2010, 08:44 AM
size 10 single

cutbait
01-11-2010, 10:58 AM
I used to use trebles but sbfishing and Buck turned me onto singles'.. Haven't lost a fish and its less metal for the powerbait to have to overcome to float.

mullet