PDA

View Full Version : questions about salmon fishing in alaska

zaggededgez
07-05-2007, 10:12 PM
ok well i know this is a report section and i am asking questions but i guess its better then posting this in the so cal freshwater page

well i get the prividge of going up to alaska with my dad july 16-24 and mainly going to fish the kenai river
my dad has been a few times so he knows how to catch the salmon.
but i kinda wanted to read up on a bunch of tips and other things about fishing up there so i can get some knowlege. we are going to be fishing on the banks
i tried googlein but everyhting that pops up are guided services
so does anyone have any tips for me? or know of some good sites with lots of info
thanks a bunch

Greg Madrigal
07-10-2007, 10:32 PM
Well, I'm no expert, but as I ubderstand it, fishing for Kings from the bank is pretty useless as they will take off and you will never see them again.

You might hit another run of say, sockeye, and that will be great from the bank, tho CROWDED.

U definitely need waders and a stout rod n reel with 15-20lb test. U can use a bare hook, but a colored fly, (or a piece of bright yarn on a hook will do and those "flys" can be bought locally anywhere cheap) is better.

If you wanna know the technique, PM me your PH# cuz its easier to explain.

I fished almost 15 hours a day when I was there, and I have even thought of going back there on the cheap, staying at a hotel, and bank fishing the sockeye or silver run.

FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good luck.

GM

Gary C.
07-11-2007, 12:06 AM