PDA

View Full Version : What?! Spincast?

fishmounter
10-30-2009, 01:48 PM
I recently used my son's spincasting outfit and I gotta say, I was really impressed! The reel is a Zebco Omega Z03 and he's got it on a nice 6'-6" medium action Browning Citori rod. We first fished Perris for a few hours and I ended up with 3 nice bass and wow!, what a smooth drag on that push button reel! With the 8 lb line he put on it, I could cast out lightweight cranks and worms way easier than with my baitcasters. I caught 2 of the bass "fly-lining" a 6" Roboworm. Then yesterday I took it to Fairmount Park and got a decent bass on my "secret" bait. The only thing is that it is a low ratio reel...more cranks on the reel handle to bring in the line, and it looks kinda dorky. But hey I don't care about looks anymore..been there, done that. Now I'm definitely going to go buy one for myself.

Fire Ball
10-30-2009, 02:06 PM
Lol, I have never tried one before. I started out using conventional reels because I mostly did saltwater fishing at first. Once I finally did a little freshwater fishing, I was using a spinning reel. Spincasting reels just looks so stupid and look like they would break so easily! I really just skipped the spincasting stage that young anglers go through. Spinning reels are easy enough to use for anyone so I don't see a need for spincasting reels. That is, until I tried to have one of my friends use one of my cheap spinning reels... What a mistake that was! The had never caught a fish in his life and I hardly told him how to use it because I thought it was so easy! He got a bunch of tangles and stuff real fast, lol.

Nessie Hunter
10-30-2009, 02:41 PM
:ROFL::ROFL:

Funny, I just watched my Hero, Bill Dance using a Spincast this Sat Morn... He says they are awesome now as compared to the past..

His worked OK on some Big Bass!!!

Weird to see that show, then this Post????

Cant remember the last time I even saw one???
They are just a Spinning Reel with a cover......