PDA

View Full Version : deep sea fishing pointers/tips??

evalrez
10-16-2009, 12:47 PM
Hi guys, I'm going deep sea fishing for the first time on sunday. I was wondering if you guys had any tips/pointers. My fiance says I might get really sea sick...:Neutral:

Troutman65
10-16-2009, 01:08 PM
Some people never get sea sick others get sicker than a dog. Best thing to do for your first time ( This is just I would do . I am not a professonal so do at your own rish ) is go on a half day boat and see if you get sick. If you don't then fine. If you do get sick then you know you need the pills.

The reason I say a half day boat is because your uselly not that far out and come in sooner than the longer trips.

The reason I say do not take the sea sick pills first is because I myself would want to find out if I get sea sickness .

Ricky-Ray
10-16-2009, 02:41 PM
I would go without taking the meds to see if you get sick or not. Looking at this weekend's weather it should be pretty smooth out there. Bring some dramine or bonine with you just in case. They are over the counter meds so you should be able to find them at CVS, Rite Aid, Walmart, Target, etc. Couple of tips since it's your first time going out.

Avoid greasy items, and alcohol. Those can have a major affect on people if they get sea sick. Keep yourself well hydrated, water, gatorade, soda, etc.

If your starting to feel queasy do not go into the galley, the smell of cooking food can make you feel worse. Stay towards the stern of the boat and in the middle, that's generally the most stable part of the boat. Keep your eye on the horizon so that your inner ear's equillibrium can rebalance itself and get plenty of fresh air.