PDA

View Full Version : new to halibut

whate
09-03-2009, 04:50 PM
hi,

I'm new to halibut fishing and hope that some one here would let me tag along next time you going fishing. I've been reading the forum and bought a few Lucky craft 110 and a couple of surf rod & reel but don't know where to start and i hope you can show me the robe.

Thanks,

Jonathan.

SHAD MAN 09
09-03-2009, 04:59 PM
Try out seal beach jettys lots of halis few legals come out of there also some barracuda at the end sand bass and calicos also. Also there is newport and pretty much anywhere you can get to the surf. well im sure more of these guys will let you in on some spots. check out vanillaguriilas stuff he is usually on the halis and wing nut too. Well good luck out there.:Cool:

whate
09-04-2009, 09:28 AM
SHAD MAN, thanks for your suggestion. I tried seal beach the past weeks but no luck so far. It's really frustrating tossing the LC all day and getting no run.
I tried dropshotting but no luck in that department too.

I really hope to see some one in action and learn from him. I've read about slow retrieve and color choice of LCs depending on the weather and water condition, etc.. but that didn't seem to help hooking fishies; in fact, it makes me want to buy more LCs and that's slowly getting out of control.

I did all kind of weird stuff in hope to get the fish bit, including taking the LCs/rods & reels/tackle box to a Chinese temple to get the monk's bless. I also wrote "i will practice catch & release religiously, regardless size" on a piece of paper, burned it and cast the ashes on the surf too.

I'm desperate.

Try out seal beach jettys lots of halis few legals come out of there also some barracuda at the end sand bass and calicos also. Also there is newport and pretty much anywhere you can get to the surf. well im sure more of these guys will let you in on some spots. check out vanillaguriilas stuff he is usually on the halis and wing nut too. Well good luck out there.:Cool: