PDA

View Full Version : New to lures

Justl1keRaven
08-02-2009, 02:31 AM
Hey. So I normally don't join forums but recently I have tried a new way to fish and I am completely baffled. I normally fish with bait, but when I went into Richard's Tackles, they have told me to try the Lucky Craft Flash Minnow 110SP Zebra Sardine.

I did some research, and even found a page from Wingnut (sp) I believe... That shows how great LC FMs are--especially when modified.

I bought one with a friend and decided to head out. Again, I am new at this and only eager to learn.

We went to Redondo Beach and unfortunately we all had a bad experience. I am not sure how to tie a jerkbait, so I basically tied it to its nose without weights. We heard Redondo have halibuts so we gave it a shot. There were so much sea weed that every time I reel my FM in there would be something attached to it. I was so frustrated and felt like I wasted $20.00. My friend didn't catch anything but saw a halibut (about 14 inches guestimate) stalking his FM--which left when he couldn't reel anymore.

I was also wondering how are you able to cast it. I normally don't stand too far into the surf. I usually go about thigh deep and cast out. Without a weight, a FM doesn't go so far. I also don't know how to jerk and reel it properly to attract fish. Does sunlight matter on the shininess of the FM?

After a few hours of short distance cast, and a bundle of sea weed, we gave up. It was our first time using lures and after this experience, it makes me never want to go to Redondo, and totally just lowers motivation for using lures.

tacklejunkie
08-02-2009, 06:38 AM
Ooops,
See reply in the surf report section. hehe

My friend didn't catch anything but saw a halibut (about 14 inches guestimate) stalking his FM--which left when he couldn't reel anymore.You almost had one! Sounds like just a "salad" day. Try again when it's clearer water! I've caught 8" butts on the 4" LC! Tiny ones will eat it.

vanillagurilla