PDA

View Full Version : Lake Mission Viejo

dodgers91485
07-27-2009, 02:25 PM
Hey there everyone..new member here. I noticed that there are no reports or anything on Lake Mission Viejo (probably because they are so strict with who can fish and stuff). Well anyways, here's some pictures of some catfish I have been catching over the past week. I am still new to this lake and havent had much success with the bass. If anyone here has any information that would help me out, it would be greatly appreciated..thanks!

I also caught an albino catfish the other night..does anyone now anything about these guys? haha thanks

goodguy
07-27-2009, 02:31 PM
Albino cats are hard to come by. I like to release them because they are a bit rare... Oh well...

Fisherman57
07-27-2009, 02:34 PM
Welcome to the board and thanks for the report & pics!

Albino catfish are like all other albino as a result of a genetic anomaly that causes the fish to lack pigment and thereby appear white. There exists albino specimens of all catfish species in the wild but the light coloration makes them easier to spot by predators and it is therefore uncommon with adult albino catfish in the wild.

Albino Channel Catfish has all the traits of the regular Channel catfish.

They have the same well tasting meat, the same quality as a sport fish and they grow to the same size. In fact the record Channel catfish in some states has been albino Channel catfish.

Albino channel catfish are also preferred by some to stock fishing lakes with since the Albino catfish are more easily spotted and allows the fishermen to see that there are fish in the lake even if they are unsuccessful in catching any.

Quoted in part from:
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/catfish/albino.php

dodgers91485
07-27-2009, 02:40 PM
ahh I see..thanks. Too late on putting him back, as can see by knife protruding from his skull haha.

tacklejunkie
07-27-2009, 02:59 PM
Nioce big kittie there man!