PDA

View Full Version : What flies are good to use around the inland enmipre

christainmetalhead909
07-26-2009, 10:39 AM
im new to fly fishing and was wondering what flies worked around the inland empire area, like big bear, sar, gregory, ect. what size also.

smokinflies
07-26-2009, 12:23 PM
what type of fish are you targeting?

christainmetalhead909
07-26-2009, 04:32 PM
o ya that may be important lol. trout sory.

rusty6
07-26-2009, 04:42 PM
i've found taht a small caddis flie works about anywhere haha so my assumption is that it will probably work there too

tacklejunkie
07-26-2009, 06:13 PM
"Stimulator" flies work just about anywhere. All different sizes for all kinds of fish. The ol reliable "Elk Hair Caddis" is a good go to surface fly for trout.

I usually like a size 14 or 16 for creek trout. You might try something a little bigger at the lakes and fall back to 14-16 if you don't get hit.

"Parachute Adams" works on gills on the surface in catfish cove at Gregory. Lots of things do actually.

DCCTrouserTrout
07-26-2009, 06:33 PM
I'm surprised no one has mentioned the good ol' wooly bugger. They will pretty much catch anything...

tacklejunkie
07-26-2009, 07:25 PM
The wooly bugger is another great one.
It helped me learn my confidence in fly fishing all together.
I used to tie little tiny red bead head wooly buggers in size 14 for the creek when I first started.
http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff280/tacklejunkie/Tiny%20Wilds%2012-20/CIMG2163.jpg

Natural Lefty
07-26-2009, 09:17 PM
Christainmetalhead, see my answer to the flyfishing for panfish post in this section. The same patterns that work for panfish also usually work for trout. A couple of my favorites were already mentioned -- the Adams and Wooly Worms.