PDA

View Full Version : Needs help with hooks

servant joe
06-23-2007, 03:49 PM
Hats off to you all, gentlemen :P
I am new to fresh water. I have been reading the report here at FNN and so excited about fishing. I have 2 shimano rods with daiwas reels-one has 6lbs line and the other has 3 lbs line. I have fished at silverwoods lake with my 7 year old son and caught about 20 schoolies-stripers. Now I want to fish in salt water too. Please help me with the following questions?
1. What size of hooks do I need when I go to the beach to fish of the pier or jetty?
2. SHould I use live bait or fake one? Live bait-what do i use? Fake one-what do I use?
3. What is a good set up of salt water tackle? I went to a local turner in inland empire and asked them questions, but they seemed not wanting to show :?:
4. What is the surf fishing and deep fishing of the pier or the jetty?
5. How do I read the tide? When is a good tide to fish?
6. I am off this whole month and want to go fishing with my son? Where should I go?
Thanks a lot gentlemen,
servantjoe

greg
06-23-2007, 10:17 PM