PDA

View Full Version : Lake Mary fishing and Mammoth area river/stream fishing.

snowbird
06-08-2009, 10:20 PM
Im kind of new to the whole threading thing but I hope some of you out there can answer a couple of my questions. This weekend, Im going to Mammoth to do a little fishing. We are going to fish lake mary in my brothers aluminum boat. Any suggestions on where to fish or what baits to use.

Anyone know how to fish a fly bobber? What kind of fly do I want?

I also thought about fishing a creek or stream while Im up there. I was told that as Im driving up the 395 before the mammoth turnoff there is a small church on the right side of the road. I should exit there and follow that road back till I run into the river. I heard thats good fishing. Is it? I only c&r but I use spinners. Is that ok there? Any suggestions?

TypeCast
06-09-2009, 09:16 AM
The green church marks the Benton Road turnoff. Go down Benton Rd until it crosses over the Owens River (can't miss it).

Upstream of this crossing is fly fishing only, downstream you may chuck your spinners.

Check out the links and articles on www.trout395.com for some basic info on the area.

TypeCast
06-09-2009, 02:18 PM
At lake mary last year, a bear picked up my backpack and took it about 20 yards away where he tore it apart to get to my clif bars.

Was at dusk on the west shore by the boat dock.

Big Country
06-09-2009, 04:22 PM
You guys are blowing the bear thing up too much...Pay attention to what you bring with you, how you store it and everything will be fine. Use common sense and be aware of your surroundings.

Quick Tip - Just because your food is in a wrapper doesn't mean a bear can't smell it.

They are domesticated so yes they do know what coolers and backpacks look like, but if you store them properly, everything is typically fine.

Remember - you gotta be smarter than the average bear booboo!