PDA

View Full Version : Sand Bass????

soskunked
06-21-2007, 02:38 PM
Is it just me or is the sand bass spawn late this year? Seems like it was all over by this time last year. Comments??

Sea Murda
06-21-2007, 02:50 PM
Two words,...........Global Warming! lol nah jk, I have no idea!

SOSO
06-21-2007, 03:08 PM
Sand Bass+Spawning. Why? Do they bite differently, pre or post spawn, to lures like fresh water large mouth Bass?

Wildhorse1966
06-21-2007, 04:00 PM
isnt it too early for the spawn?

WalePescado
06-21-2007, 05:50 PM
I always remember pounding them in July. As for the spawn, I'm a retired amateur icthyologist so I have no idea on habits, but if you fish the Huntington Flats or off San Onofre when they are "spawning", it's WFO on a nice grade of fish. I've had days with 50+ fish with many going 4 pounds and a couple of better grade fish.

Seatech
06-21-2007, 05:55 PM
Should be REALLY soon, the bigger and smaller models have been showing up all around Long Beach & structure recently, which they do every year before the spawn.

Pulled these 2 pigs off the Wall last night, 6.2 & 5.6lbs :

http://www.senortuna.com/pics/data/500/IMGP0086.JPG

http://www.senortuna.com/pics/data/500/sandie.jpg

It's more fun before they move to the flats and WAAYYYYY less crowded!

Ed

ghetto dad
06-21-2007, 09:51 PM
its called giant squid!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

JapanRon
06-22-2007, 01:46 PM
Hi ghettodad,

I too am worried big time on the fishery when it comes to dumb ol' Sandies and the voracious GSs. Hate those Giant Squid. They ravage a place til there is nothing left ..... then ..... move on. Hope our little Calicos have enough sense to go hide in the kelp!

JapanRon

SOSO
06-22-2007, 01:57 PM
Hi ghettodad,

I too am worried big time on the fishery when it comes to dumb ol' Sandies and the voracious GSs. Hate those Giant Squid. They ravage a place til there is nothing left ..... then ..... move on. Hope our little Calicos have enough sense to go hide in the kelp!