PDA

View Full Version : May 29 pierpiont landing report

Duckhunter
06-02-2009, 09:48 AM
Went out on an overnight charter the 29th. The crew I was fishing with were targeting rock fish only. 1st for me, I usually like to fish bass, YT, ect. Thought I would change it up a bit and try something new. Got some advise from a few here (thanks again!) and headed out. The weather was incredible almost too calm. Hit San Nicholas Island about 07:00. Most guys were fishing large jigs which was my plan until I saw the bait. Great looking dines! Dropped down a rock cod set up with two nice looking baits. From there on out it was hook up every time I got the bait to the bottom without loosing it, about 80% of the time. One of the deckhands told me I was wasting my time with live bait, said I couldnt keep in on that deep. I didnt really have a problem, maybe he thought I was a novice. Just slow down the decent, macks were not a problem stealing the bait.

I got outfished by a few on the boat but pretty much held my own for a first timer. Ended up with a salmon grouper that took one of the MANY jackpot fish. Brought home a nice newell reel. This was a huge bonus becasue I was happy with the 15lbs of cod fillets I had. Apparently this was one of the slowest trips they had (Probably due to the time of year???)
I have no complaints.

The crew was pretty good, and captain great!!! I caught a lot of firsts

6 ling cod 1 keeper
2 nice salmon grouper
1 chucklehead
huge nice red and several decent ones went into the sack.

ghetto dad
06-02-2009, 09:54 AM
Nice report man..I thought you couldnt keep any "red" fish tho at san nick????

anyways, thanks for the report...

GD

Duckhunter
06-02-2009, 12:46 PM