PDA

View Full Version : Mercury Outboard 2.5hp help!

sh1bby69
05-03-2009, 12:08 AM
Hi there! Well I bought a 2.5hp Mercury Outboard on eBay and for safety reasons it was shipped with no oil. What kind of oil do I use in it and what is the mixture for the gas? I'm a compete noob when it comes to outboard. What other things should I know. Basically I need to know how to keep it and maintain it. I will be using it in DPH mainly pushing a 12' Sevylor Hunting Fianing boat. Thanks!

Kevman
05-04-2009, 12:08 PM
If you can post some more info about the motor (year, model #, serial #, 4-stroke/2-stroke, etc.) we can help you more.

You said the motor "has no oil," what do you mean? Only 4-stroke motors need engine oil.

But you also said "what is the mixture for the gas?" and only 2-stroke motors need oil mixed with the gas.

So either your motor needs oil and uses plain gas, or doesn't use oil and does need oil mixed with the gas.

I'm talking only about small motors in the size range you stated.

Kev

GeordyBass
05-04-2009, 05:18 PM
If you can post some more info about the motor (year, model #, serial #, 4-stroke/2-stroke, etc.) we can help you more.

You said the motor "has no oil," what do you mean? Only 4-stroke motors need engine oil.

But you also said "what is the mixture for the gas?" and only 2-stroke motors need oil mixed with the gas.

So either your motor needs oil and uses plain gas, or doesn't use oil and does need oil mixed with the gas.

I'm talking only about small motors in the size range you stated.

KevRemember,all motors have lower unit oil....

and your motor should use 50:1 mix,,,

sh1bby69
05-05-2009, 09:50 AM
The serial number is OD917061 it's a 1993.

I e-mailed the seller and this is what he sent me: