PDA

View Full Version : Float Tube Noob~ Questions??/

shy_boxer
06-16-2007, 02:28 PM
I am a tube noob and I would like to invest into a float tube in the near future but I don't have a clue of what to get? Basically, I just want to buy the best bang for the buck. Any info would be much appreciated. Thank you.

1. What is the best float tube you can buy for the money? How Much?

2. What is the best fins you can buy for the money? How much?

3. What is the best wader you can buy for the money? How Much?

4. How much would do I need to spend on fully decked out tube and supplies? No ebay please. I don't trust ebay! I got ripped off before.

P.S. Please inform me of what retailer I should go to buy my float tube and supplies.

jbacsaf
06-16-2007, 04:58 PM
Hope this helps...

1. If you weigh about or less than 200lbs, the ODC 420 ($160, 250lbs weight capacity) or Fish Cat ($160, 250lbs weight capacity). If you weigh over 200lbs, you probably want an Outcast Fat Cat ($300, 300lbs weight capacity) or Super Fat Cat ($350, 350lbs weight capacity). All of the tubes previously mentioned are "V" shaped, have 2 air bladders for added safety, and has room for storage in the back. Another good option to consider is the Caddis Navigator II ($140?, 350lbs weight capacity). This tube is fast , has I believe 4 or 5 air bladders, but has no storage in the back. I'm sure others will have their own opinions as to which is the best bang for the buck, because there's a lot to consider. Bottom line, all of the tubes mentioned are excellent.

2. Again, people will give you two responses here: Hot Spot fins ($80) or Force fins (no clue on the price). I personally use Hot Spot fins and do recommend them (HAHA, beat you to it Nessie!!!)