PDA

View Full Version : need some info on avet reels

NoHo ART
03-11-2009, 02:00 AM
i am thinking of picking up a few avet reels on friday, but im new to any type of conventional or casting reels.
im thinking of getting:
1. sx single speed
1. sx 2 speed
1. mxl 2 speed
1. lx 2 speed

any info on what type of rigs, lures, and types of fish i can use this reels for would be helpful.
or any suggestions on any different avet reels.
and what do you guys think of avet rods?

thanks in advance guys

tunafisherman
03-11-2009, 08:31 AM
I have 12 avets great reels haven't any problems with them. Single speed or two speed. What are you going to use them for and what type of line. I love the jx 2speed and the lx 2speed. The jx I fish 30lb and the lx 40lb. Great for jigs and for offshore tuna fishing. It's all up to you what you like and feel will work for you. The new cast control works great. Good luck.

ghetto dad
03-11-2009, 08:42 AM
i am thinking of picking up a few avet reels on friday, but im new to any type of conventional or casting reels.
im thinking of getting:
1. sx single speed
1. sx 2 speed
1. mxl 2 speed
1. lx 2 speed

any info on what type of rigs, lures, and types of fish i can use this reels for would be helpful.

thanks in advance guys

Yo art, whats UP homie???? Damn, I turn my head for a minute, you turn all professional and baller on me!! lol....

That all depends on what you are going to use them for. IMO, you do not need an SX in 2 speed. And from what I hear, the LX is too big. I would grab a JX 2 speed instead, you can fish 30-50 on that reel, with your spectra backing. Thats whats going to cost you, is the spectra.

This is what i use my avets for:

SX single 15 lb
MXL single 20 lb
MXL 2 speed 25 lb
JX single 30 lb
JX 2 speed 40 lb
4/02 2 speed 50-60 lb (troll)

As far as the avet rods, I havent fished them, but i hear they suck. A lot of them arent splined right, as with alot of lower quality other factory wrapped rod companies.